Poison

The main tour support for the Mötley Crüe tour is the ever youthful Alice Cooper. If he has his full stage show with him then tomorrow night is going to be a truly spectacular event to watch.

December 14th 1989 – my first visit to what was then called the NEC Arena. It’s now called the Genting Arena, but just tell people you’re off to the NEC and they’ll know.

Two school friends and I caught the bus that Mike Lloyds Music – a local record shop – used to run to the bigger concerts for that evenings entertainment. I was a bit in awe of the size of the place as it was the biggest concert I’d been to at the time, then again I think it was only my second ever gig!

Britny Fox and Great White opened up proceedings. Never heard of either of them back then and I’ve seen neither since. I’d not heard much by Alice Cooper beforehand, I had Trash on cassette and the previous albums – Raise Your Fist And Yell and Constrictor – had been copied for me by friends. Obviously the big hits I knew from the Friday Rock Show on the radio or the Power Hour on TV (I’m Eighteen, Billion Dollar Babies, Schools Out, etc) but a lot of the 22 song set went straight over my head at the time.

Poison has been Alice’s biggest UK chart hit to date. It peaked at number 2, being kept off the top slot by Jive Bunny!

Leave a Reply

