Blackbone Song 

For no other reason than I mentioned the band in another post here’s some female fronted German heavy metal in the form of Zed Yago. I’m guessing a name not familiar to most people – even many in metal circles!!

I’ve not been able to find out much about them, but what I have I’ll share.

Formed in the German city of Hamburg in 1985 with blues singer Jutta Weinhold taking the helm. Jutta had already been releasing records as far back as 1973. Her first single (well that I can find information on) is Feuer Und Eis – a German language version of Suzi Quatro’s 48 Crash.

Zed Yago released their debut album From Over Yonder in 1988 for Steamhammer before releasing a follow up for major label RCA – Pilgramage – a year later. This lead to the band supporting W.A.S.P. on their European tour in 1989 – which I when I got to see them.

In 1990 the Jutta Weinhold line up disbanded, only for guitarist Jimmy Durand to reactivate the band but this time with his wife on vocals. Since then they have played odd festival dates, one of them being the massive Wacken Festival, and even released a few albums

The name is derived from the fictional daughter of the 17th century ghost ship legend The Flying Dutchman – a ship that can never make port and is doomed to sail the seas forever. This explains why a lot of the band’s imagery and lyrics deal with pirates and many things nautical!

Interestingly on my internet trawling, their set from London’s Hammersmith Odeon in 1989 (I’m assuming from their support slot with W.A.S.P.) is featured on BBC Radio 6 Musics Classic Concerts to be aired at 2am on November 28th, so check the link from the 28th onwards. I know I will be!

The only video they seem to have made is for this song taken from their second album.

Leave a Reply

