In My World

Friday evening sees a trip south to Birmingham for a thrash metal double bill (And some birthday shenanigans!) and it doesn’t get any more classic than Slayer and Anthrax. So be prepared for a double dose of East coast and West coast thrash. Both bands have been seen in this here blog already, but they are both up there as my favourite bands.

First up New York’s Anthrax. They’ve played Hanley twice in their career, 1987 on their Among the Living tour with Testament is tow then again during their State of Euphoria tour in 1989 supported by Kings X.

I was too young first time around, but in ’89 I was pretty gutted I couldn’t make it then as it fell in what used to be a local holiday and we as a family always used to go away in what is commonly known as the Potters Fortnight.

I don’t know who to thank, but I came across this tour poster for their ’89 tour online with their Hanley date misspelt as Manley. That must have caused confusion with some people!

I have seen Scott Ian “live” locally though as his initial spoken word tour hit Stoke-on-Trent in 1993. It was a very interesting evening, just a shame that more people weren’t there to witness the event.

In My World is taken from the 1990 album Persistence Of Time – a song I most definitely won’t be seeing live this weekend and a video I haven’t seen for a long time.

Leave a Reply

