Over The Wall

  
What day is it? 

It’s that weird limbo time of year where people are not back at work (for some) or school yet. And the post Christmas and New Years self inflicted recovery days all seem to bleed into the next. Regardless of that whatever day it is, it’s always a good day for thrash metal.

Crossing and ocean and the whole American continent we’re heading off to the San Fransisco Bay Area for the band regarded the best not to be in the Big 4 (again very subjective) and rewinding back almost 29 years to The Legacy release with ever imposing frontman Chuck Billy. 

I remember buying this on vinyl in 1987 and taking it back to my friends house a few doors up from my mum and dad’s as he had a turntable in his bedroom. Sitting there playing it loud and reading the lyrics as it played. I think we played in back to back at least twice. It was much easier to read lyrics that were printed on the inner dust covers of a piece of 12″ vinyl than those that followed in compact disc booklets (and my eyes were nearly thirty years younger!)

November of the same year saw Testament supporting Anthrax on their 16 date UK Among The Living tour. They played the Victoria Hall in Hanley -nine miles away from my front door – 15 days before my 14th birthday. As mentioned previously, this would be a show I would be attending if I could roll back time in my DeLorean. 

I might be wrong as I haven’t watched every music video available, but I’d say this is the first thrash metal promo filmed in a prison, but with Alcatraz on your doorstep why not utilise it?

Leave a Reply

