The Boys Are Back In Town

Like so many bands of this era Thin Lizzy are a band I never really got into when I was younger. Even now I’ll admit I’m not a huge fan, but again I can appreciate what the band, and more importantly Phil Lynott gave to what I listen to today.

Another tortured genius who’s only solace in later life was through drug and alcohol dependency, he passed away on January 4th 1986 aged only 36 from pneumonia and heart failure brought on by septicaemia.

Over the years a multitude of artists from a varied background have paid tribute to the music of Phil Lynott and Thin Lizzy, and if I’m being honest I’ve probably heard more of the cover versions than the original compositions. Possibly the most recognised cover is Metallica’s take of Whiskey In The Jar, a traditional Irish folk song made popular by Thin Lizzy in 1972.

I’m off work later this week, so I’ll set aside some time and have an immersive session with some Thin Lizzy albums. For now here’s The Boys Are Back In Town taken from the Jailbreak album.

Leave a Reply

