Charlie Brown

Tonight I’m hopefully going to Ashton – Under – Lyne on the outskirts of Manchester to see the Casillas brothers with their ska punk band Voodoo Glow Skulls.

At this time of year where temperatures are hovering down around 0°C and we’ve had a smattering of snow and ice – which in turn has brought travel chaos on our roads – going to see this band bringing a slice of much needed Californian sun and fun to the UK will be more than welcome.

It’s been a long time since I last saw the band, Valentine’s Day 1996 to be exact, so I think I’m overdue a trip to see them. Treading the boards in UK venues has been a little bit sporadic in the last two decades. I’m sure I should have seen them some years ago, but the tour was scrapped late on. I think.

Every time I think about seeing the Voodoo Glow Skulls I get stuck with their uptempo version of The Coasters track Charlie Brown in my head. I’d hazard a guess that I would have heard the original version of the song when I was growing up, 1959 would be part of my dad’s youthful years.

This version is taken from the bands second album Firme, their first release for Epitaph Records.

Well that’s my “lunch break” over. Take two minutes out of yours and have a listen.


Leave a Reply

