R.I.P. Jimmy Bain

  

R.I.P. Jimmy Bain

19 December 1947 – 24 January 2016

And once again a new day dawns with news of yet another passing in the rock community.

Born and raised in Newtonmore in the Scottish Highlands Jimmy briefly moved to Vancouver before returning to the UK.  Richie Blackmore saw Jimmy playing at the Marquee Club with his band Harlot and asked him to join his band Rainbow on bass.  He recorded Rising in 1976, but he was sacked early in 1977.

Six years later in 1983 he’d join up again with ex-Rainbow vocalist Ronnie James Dio and the band simply known as Dio, is where he’d make his mark for the next 19 years and appeared on and wrote for all the classic Dio albums.

Sometime in 1987, I Could Have Been a Dreamer was one of the first four 7″ singles I ever purchased when I was getting into my love affair with heavy metal. For those interested the other three were by W.A.S.P., Whitesnake and Ratt, and I still have them all. This song and the album it appeared on, Dream Evil, was my gateway into Dio. Unfortunately I never got to see Dio play live.

After Dio’s death in 2010 some ex members of the Dio band – including Bain – joined up as Last In Line and played songs that they had recorded from the Dio back catalogue.  I did get to see them live in 2013 at the Bloodstock Festival.

Leave a Reply

