Revenge

Al Jourgensen has been fronting Chicago based band Ministry since the early 1980’s. Last week the band announced another brief UK visit in the summer. So what do you do in the meantime? You listen to some classic Ministry.

Before their farewell tours and prior to Jesus building their hot rod there was the industrial stylings of The Land of Rape and Honey and Twitch. But even before that there was the bands Synthpop era! Yes, the industrial heavy metal titans once sounded like some of the British New Wave bands like New Order, Thompson Twins and Depeche Mode.

I believe this has been wiped from Jourgensen’s memory banks and described as “an abortion”. I’m sure I’m not the only who’s done this, but I brought the CD of With Sympathy by mistake. I’d got the three studio albums prior to the bands 1992 break through release Psalm 69: The Way to Succeed and the Way to Suck Eggs – to give it its full title.

I came across the With Sympathy CD at a local record fair. It said Ministry on it, and I didn’t have it. In the days before you could preview things on Spotify I handed over my cash and took it home. I was in for a bit of a shock when I pressed play and thought I’d got some kind of miss pressing. It never grew on me at the time and I don’t think I even have the disc any longer.

I came across this video whilst I was looking for some “earlier” Ministry videos to post here. I like this album a lot more now than I did when I originally got hold of the CD. I daren’t look how much it could be worth now, hopefully nothing. I’ll rectify this post in the very near future with something pre Psalm 69.


Leave a Reply

