Eric’s Had A Bad Day

I’m back!! Had a few days recovering / feeling sorry for myself since we got home from Norwich and London. I went with a sore knee, but with miles and miles of walking over the weekend my leg certainly wasn’t happy with me. As a thank you on my return home my leg became swollen. What I though was just three days of over exertion, it turned out to be an infection, confirmed by the doctors after being cattle prodded to the surgery. Penicillin for me then.

On Sunday I finally got to see Canadian skate punk veterans SNFU in London. Another band I’ve been listening to on and off for a long time, but never had the chance to see live. I vaguely remember pulling out of attending one of their shows more than 20 years ago. I’m almost certain it was due to have been at the Warehouse in Derby, but I have no idea why I never went.
 

They formed in Edmonton way back in 1981. Over the proceeding 35 years they’ve had their troubles and split up on numerous occasions. Vocalist Mr. Chi Pig (or Ken Chinn to his parents) is the only constant in the band and he’s hit rock bottom harder than anyone. He’s suffered from depression and addictions, endured poverty and eventually became homeless. They should really have been as much of a household name as the likes of Green Day and The Offspring. They found a home for a number of years with Epitaph Records shortly before the label hit it big with the release of Smash. Epitaph had hoped SNFU, along with other bands on the roster, would hit the big time, but everything was dwarfed in comparison by Smash and Dookie.

Around 7:30pm yesterday I found out that the band were playing in Manchester to an audience of 150 and were due on stage at 9pm. As I’d seen them a few days before I didn’t risk the hour drive to Manchester to see them for a second time just incase I got turned away by a sold out sign. That might have been very different if I hadn’t been in the basement venue of the Borderline 48 hours earlier.

 

This video is taken from 1995’s seven word album title, as is every release, The One Voted Most Likely To Succeed (a dig at some other punk contemporaries?), twenty-nine and a half minutes of punk bliss and a return to form, and basics, after the previous album.

Leave a Reply

