The American Way

I’ve been holding off from posting something from Phoenix’s Sacred Reich for a while as I was seeing them at Hellfest last month. As I took my unscheduled hiatus during June and the festival was in June I never got around to posting. So finally here’s some Sacred Reich.

A lot of fans aren’t overly impressed with this release, mainly due to its lack of thrash! Moving into the 90’s a lot of bands seemed to mellow out a little and change direction. This release does feel much more stripped down compared to the pummelling Ignorance released three years previously, but times were changing and it happens a lot in most musical genres. Just look at some of the UK ’82 punk bands (Discharge, The Exploited, Broken Bones) and even the New York hardcore bands (Agnostic Front) that ditched the short sharp shock sound to go along a more metal sounding route. Which more often than not didn’t work out well.

I have to say I like The American Way album and it’s follow up Independent. The first album and the EP were both more recordings that I listened to early on, but they never struck a chord with me. I can remember hearing the track Independent on a compilation CD that came with the short lived Metal CD magazine in 1992. That piqued my interest in the band again and took me on a voyage of discovery back to the 1980’s.

As I’m seeing the band again in 12 days this is kind of part one of two posts about the band.

Seeing as today is American Independence Day, The American Way seems a decent choice to celebrate with my American thrash metal brethren.

One thought on “The American Way

Leave a Reply

