The Sound Of Revolution

  

September 11th 2001 a day that changed the world landscape forever – and the New York City skyline forever. 

I got home just before 2pm from work and just flopped out in front of the TV. What I saw unfolding on the screen in front of me was unbelievable. 
  

NYC is a place I’ve wanted to visit for a long time and eventually I did for the first time in 2004. The city was everything I’d hoped it was and more. The wife and I spent a bit of time at ground zero – which unfortunately, but very expectedly became a tourist trap – where the two towers once stood. Along with our visit to Oświęcim in Poland a few years later, when we visited it was one of the eeriest places we’ve been to. It was hard to comprehend that two of the biggest structures in the world once rose majestically out of the huge hole left in a city street in front of us. 

At that time in my life I was heavily into the music associated with New York hardcore scene. The venue that is akin to Mecca within that whole genre was the 350 capacity CBGB’s once located on the Bowery in the cities East Village district. Unfortunately I never had chance to see a band live in the club, but the people running the venue’s merchandise area were kind enough to let us in and have a look around. It’s now been redeveloped and is some sort of fashion designers outlet store, but apparently there are some nods towards its previous life still preserved inside. 
  

September 11th also marks the passing of a legend in the NYHC scene 19 years ago. Raymond Barbieri, better known as Raybeez, fronted the influential, but often misunderstood, Lower East Side band Warzone since their inception in 1983. Aged just 35 he passed away due to complications brought on by pneumonia. This was the era before instant notifications and I found out about his passing in a small snippet in NME magazine a week later. I’m pretty sure I still have that knocking about the house somewhere too. 

I only got to see Raybeez spitting his venom once in November 1996 at Bradford Rios, one of only a handful of shows they ever performed over here. I’m pretty sure the limited run they did that year were their first on British soil. 

The Sound Of Revolution is taken from the album of the same name and was Warzone’s penultimate release in 1996. 

  

Leave a Reply

