War Inside My Head

Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to you! 

Yes I know it’s the first day in February but I’ve seriously neglected the blog (again) for pushing 50 days! I’ve had the time to chuck a few words together but just haven’t had the get up and go to do it. So let this be a jump lead attached to the Lifetime blog. 

2017 was also a slow start on the gig front too – pretty much for the same “can’t be bothered” reason. Since the last post I went to one more gig before Christmas – a local event with some reunited 80’s Stoke bands. 

Up until Saturday my significant other half had attended more shows in 2017 when she went to a Queen tribute on Friday evening. My first one of the year was a total DIY show in a Birmingham rehearsal room with four fastcore and grind bands. I love the idea of matinée shows, being able to amble up to the train station and not have to worry about missing the last train or cutting a set short is much more relaxing. It also happens to be probably the coldest gig I’ve been to that had a roof on!

Number two soon followed within 24 hours with my first trip to the capital for the final date on the EMP Persistence tour. Seven bands of the more hardcore and crossover persuasion in six hours within the Kentish Town Forum. Three bands I’ve never seen live before (Mizery, Burn and Down to Nothing) who all impressed. Capped off by an incendiary set by Venice Beach natives Suicidal Tendencies. 

London trips by British Rail are always time consuming and energy zapping affairs, but if that’s where the mountain is…. I was out of the house for fifteen hours, but it’s easier to let the train take the strain – as the old TV adverts used to say. Plus travelling alone it’s more economical than driving there and back. 

War Inside My Head is taken from the bands second album Join The Army from 1987. This album was one of the pieces of vinyl that did the rounds at school with the handful of metal heads there, and still remains one of my favourite Suicidal albums nearly 30 years after I first heard it. 

I’m not sure where the video was filmed, but it certainly wasn’t recorded in ’87. The bass player on the video is Rob Trujillo (who I’ll be seeing on Friday) and he didn’t join until 1989. The video can be found on the 1990 tape Lights… Camera… Suicidal, which has never officially surfaced on DVD.


While we’re mentioning the Big 4, the addition of Dave Lombardo behind the drum kit has really added some bite to their live sound compared to the pair of shows I saw from them last year with the much more laid back Eric Moore on the drum-stool. 

Leave a Reply

