L.O.V.E. Machine 

I’m generally not a fan of cover bands or tribute bands. In all my time I’ve purposely seen three that I can think of – a Bon Jovi tribute in the early days of the wife and I, a Metallica tribute and a band who played rock covers. I think that’s it in twenty eight years! 

At a push you could say four when I saw Satan’s Lounge Band perform at the Best Buy Theatre in New York City in 2011, even though it was Anthrax members playing Anthrax songs in one of the worst kept secrets in the metal community during the Big 4 weekend in the city. 

Tomorrow I’m off to Eleven – just up the road – to take that tally to five. Whitesnake U.K. are performing there and ably supported by Electric Circus.  Not quite as self explanatory as the headliners but I’m intrigued to see a tribute to W.A.S.P., especially as I’ve never heard of a tribute to the said Los Angeles outfit. 

I’ve seen the bonafide versions of both bands on numerous occasions and as noted previously, W.A.S.P. were the first headline band I saw live and a further dozen times since. Mr Coverdale’s band a more modest three times. 

Coincidentally both bands were two of the first three 7″ singles I purchased back in 1987 from Mike Lloyds Music in Newcastle. Dio’s “I Could Have Been A Dreamer” was the gooseberry amongst this trio of pieces of plastic, along with Whitesnake’s re-release of Here I Go Again and W.A.S.P.’s notorious debut single Animal (F**k Like A Beast) – I was thirteen and rebellious. 

I’m not entirely sure what I expect to have seen by the culmination of the show; it could be stunning or a complete car crash of an evening. I’m hoping the vocals of the Whitesnake clones are better than the three times I’ve seen the genuine article. And in regards to W.A.S.P. I’m kind of hoping I’ll get to hear Animal played live for the first time in thirteen years since frontman Blackie Lawless “found god”. 

 W.A.S.P. are up there as one of my favourite bands and have only featured twice in the blog. L.O.V.E. Machine is taken from the band’s self titled debut (or in some territories it’s known as Winged Assassins) from 1984. For me, that album is amongst my favourite debut albums. It’s such a great slice of Hollywood sleaze with no fillers on the album in my humble opinion. This track was never released as a single in the U.K., but there was a 12″ released in Japan, and for collector geeks, there’s an American promotional 12″ release and a Spanish promo 7″. 

Leave a Reply

