In The Name Of God

I really enjoy loading as much music as I can onto my phone and just pressing shuffle to see where the ride takes me. It’s a pretty rare occurrence that I’ll grab a CD or start an album in its digital form and just play it from track one, unless it’s a new release or I’m preparing for a gig or something. 

I’ve got a fair few songs on my iPhone and I’d like to think the majority of them are okay songs at the very least, but once in a while something embarrassing might pop up and I have to reach for the advance button, depending on the company at the time. 

Fortunately this track isn’t in that dirty little secret category. It also once in a while throws up something unexpected that you just have to think “wow, I’ve not heard that in ages“. 

I’ve had the the albums Edge of Damnation and Demon Preacher by Brighton’s Deathwish in one format or another in my collection for as long as I can remember, going right back to my school days easily. But that’s about all I know about this band. 

Their Motörhead tinged thrash metal had something a bit different to the other British bands doing the rounds at the time. From the bands this island had to offer Deathwish probably had a sound closest to the German Teutonic artists. 

They seem to be a complete enigma to many, even from those old enough to remember them. Unless someone is trying to gain some retroactive scene points, they very rarely get mentioned in conversations with the likes of UK stalwarts Acid Reign, Xentrix, Onslaught, Sabbat or Re-Animator. Their second album was released in 1988 and I’m not sure when they chucked the towel in, so I might have missed the Deathwish boat completely, but I can’t recall ever seeing them in Kerrang!, Metal Hammer (when both magazines were good) when I was reading them from probably 1988 onwards. 

I hope Mr Glasper managed to get a few words out of them for his UK thrash metal book, as I’d be intrigued to know more about the band from the band themselves. If they’d been from the States I surmise that they’d be much more of a household name than they are today. 

Leave a Reply

