One Foot In The Grave


When it’s my time to leave this mortal coil there are two things I want to happen on the day. When the funeral procession leaves wherever to my final destination I don’t want it to drive slowly and clog up all the roads. I’ve been stuck behind way too many funeral processions to know how frustrating it is for people still going about their daily work. 

Secondly I want to be slightly late! I used to pride myself on my punctuality for most things that weren’t work based. In the last couple of decades I seem to be late for anything and everything. Today is just another point in case. 

I’ve had more than six hours since I got up this morning to get ready and arrive at the station in time. So rather than being prepared I decide to hunt for a specific shirt (which I didn’t locate) within the hour window of having to be seven miles away. Then I manage to drop my cash card behind the radiator. Rather than falling straight through to the floor, as would do 99% of the time, it ledges on some detritus behind the fins. I end up leaving fifteen minutes before my train leaves and I make it with minutes to spare.  

Now ensconced in my seat for the next ninety minutes I’m trying to calm down and listen to some music. First track playing after hitting shuffle is the title track from the most recent album from the alcohol soaked Tankard. Ironically trying to put this CD into my iTunes library and syncing the phone was a contributing factor to my mad dash to the station. My PC and the iTunes interface really don’t get along! 

It’s also ironic that I’m listening to a German thrash metal stalwart, who this year celebrate 35 years together as a band, as I make my journey to London to watch a band that the old guard will undoubtedly pass the German thrash metal torch onto in the near future. 

I think I wrote in the last Tankard post that I’d be seeing them in Scotland in September. For whatever unexplained reason that had been replaced with a date in Portugal, which has now been replaced by another German show, so another year without the Frankfurt band gracing a British stage. There are a couple of options involving a short flight to see them in either Berlin or Eindhoven in December which I might have a peruse at next time I’m off work. 

Until then here’s the video for One Foot in the Grave, from the superb album of the same name, that isn’t all about alcohol. I’m not old enough yet for my leather diaper but I hope I go senile in style. 

Leave a Reply

