Enlighten Me

How things have changed since the first outdoor version of the Bloodstock Festival. Due to the limited capacity of 2,500 or so in the Assembly Rooms and with the backing of the über festival Wacken, the British metalheads of the traditional variety had now got their own weekend in the rain. 

I didn’t attended the Friday half day with Sebastian Bach closing the night, I was probably working on the Saturday. I was there on the second day, but in hindsight I don’t know why. Every band playing on the day had played at the four indoor editions, with two playing back in September. Something that the organisers have sadly kept in place. 

The original layout of the site could accommodate ten thousand people, but I’m pretty sure it was nowhere near capacity. The car parking was within spitting distance of the single stage separated by a small plastic fence. I’m not sure if it was due to inclement weather or boredom, but I can recall sitting in my car at one point watching proceedings unfold to my left. Yes, it was that close. 

I’ve already posted about Paradise Lost performing in 2003. We had Evergrey yesterday and I’ve rambled about Children of Bodom previously, so that leaves Edguy, who at one point felt like the festivals own band in residency or fellow Germans Masterplan. 

So Masterplan it is then. They were formed by ex-Helloween members Roland Grapow and Uli Kusch when they were fired in 2001 for daring to want a side project. Apart from the fact that they were on two festival line ups I happened to be at I’ve not seen them since 2005, they haven’t even played the UK since a quartet of dates in 2007, and I own no music by them at all.  

Enlighten Me can be found on 2003’s self titled album. 

Heavy Metal Month Listening Challenge 5/31

Day 5 – A song about the glory of metal.

Believer – Shadow of Death

Well I’m struggling with this one. A highly renowned metal song? A song I take pride in? A beautiful song? Something with glory in the title? For some reason I kept getting drawn to the power metal genre. 

Then I had a light bulb moment. I might have misunderstood the original question but I went down the religious rabbit hole with glory meaning praise and worship to a deity.