Inflammatory

It’s Friday night and I’m home alone, well Ozymandias is here too, drinking beer, eating oatcakes and I’m in a bit of a quandary.

Swedish thrashers Warfect are over in the U.K. for their first trio of shows here. Last night they were in Hitchin (137 miles away from my house). On Sunday they are 163 miles away in Camden. Both of these shows aren’t viable as I’m rapidly running out of holidays at work and I couldn’t get there, back and into work in a suitable state in one evening.

Ideally a show tonight in the Midlands or North West would have been ideal, but tonight has ended up being left frustratingly vacant which leaves the middle show in Bristol tomorrow as the most practical option.

The quandary with a trip to the southwest is just how to get there. I wouldn’t usually have any qualms with the 133 mile drive but I’ve got to get a new tyre on the car before I think of attempting the trip. Ideally I’d like to let the train take the strain, but as the time is creeping up all the associated costs are also creeping up. I’d probably be looking at the best part of £200 for the transport and accommodation as those in charge seem to think people don’t want to travel around the country on a Saturday after 10pm! It’ll be something to sleep on.

Two thirds of the current line up were in a band called Incoma from 2003 and released a few demos prior to the name change at the debut album Depicting the Macabre surfacing in 2009.

They’ve played around Europe and I was pretty close to seeing them in Paris in 2017 when they were supporting Lich King, but that jaunt never materialised.

Greek thrashers Domination are playing much closer to home in Wolverhampton tomorrow, which would make a much cheaper and easier option, but will I get the chance to see Warfect on these shores again? And I think Domination have been here for the last three years, plus they are in Manchester on Monday.

It’s been fantastic catching the likes of Hatchet, Lich King, Adversor, Dr Living Dead and Meet the Mailman, amongst others, in my own neck of the woods but the crowds weren’t stellar by any stretch of the imagination and will that put those bands off risking future trips to the U.K. again any time soon? They’re chances I need to take as and when just incase there is no next time.

Inflammatory was released in 2013 and can be found on their Exoneration Denied album if you wish to check them out. Fingers crossed I’ll be experiencing the band (and maybe seeing this live?) in the next 24 hours.

https://youtu.be/XSTg_rB0_SA

Leave a comment